Pushing Religious Buttons

…however unintentionally

I posted on Facebook (via GetGlue.com) that I was currently reading Bart Ehrman’s ‘God’s Problem’ to which a friend commented “dislike.”  Amost immediately, mind you.  I wondered if he responded this way out of distaste for the title.  To my knowledge, he’s not an unbeliever, but he’s never shown himself to be overtly faithful, either.  And I seriously doubt he’d even had time to remotely explore what the book is about.  It’s a somewhat provactive title, but could just as easily been written by a theologian in defense of Christianity, etc.

My subsequent thinking on the matter led me here.  The funny part about it is this: the person who left the comment happens to be of two different societal groups to which much derision and intolerance has been heaped.  I find it most puzzling, if fascinating, how even the oppressed can oppress others with impunity.

I have respect for this individual, so I didn’t really pursue the matter much.  I see scores of religious posts on Facebook – ranging from “please pray for…” requests for people going through difficulties, to overt messages such as the oft-posted “Will you repost this and stand up for Jesus, or be afraid and just delete it?” And yet, I say nothing.  I generally hold a certain level of respect for these people; otherwise I wouldn’t have them on my friends list.  And while I’m all for healthy debate, it is rare that I find someone who would actually wish to intelligently debate such topics, rather than simply emotionally browbeat in defense of their position.

Also, be sure to check out this interesting new article from Sam Harris.

2 thoughts on “Pushing Religious Buttons

  1. I have an agreement with most of my friends on Facebook. I will post my Atheist posting. They will post their Christian posting, and we wont debate each other: Unless somone comments in a manner such as your friend did. If that happens then they have enetered the discussion, and will be treated the same as anyone else in the debate. The quality of that treatment ranges from respectful to condescendingly dismissive based on the quality and thoughtfullness of what they have to say.

    • The thing is, with this friend, I was surprised at both the content of the comment and the quickness with which it was posted. I wouldn’t have seen this person as someone very intolerant (and especially not outwardly so) – generally, this friend is very positive, open, and tolerant of other people’s views. One of those people that never has a negative thing to say, at least online. Thanks for reading, and commenting!

Leave a Reply

