Desert Island Disc – 1

Here’s today’s topic, brought to us by Plinky.com and The Daily Post.

If stranded on a desert island, and could only bring one music album with you, which would it be? What is it about this music that never gets old for you?

This is actually a tough one for me, but I guess I gotta go with my gut instinct, right?  I’m going to cheat just a little – my pick here is an anthology. 😉

It is 3 discs worth of music from my favorite artist of all time  (a very close second is Johnette Napolitano – more on her later), and just happens to contain my very favorite song, “Outside the Rain.”

Stevie’s music takes me out of this world, and into exactly the space and time I wish to reside forever.  It takes me to my beloved desert.  Maybe it’s because she was born and raised in Phoenix – and still lives there, in Paradise Valley – but I can feel the desert in her music.  Listen to even just the opening few seconds of “Rock a Little” and tell me it doesn’t evoke a desert red-rock sunset. (obviously, this is not the official video lol)

I guess…yeah, if I had to be stranded on a desert island with only my thoughts, this music would easily serve as my soundtrack.

What’s yours?

8 thoughts on “Desert Island Disc – 1

  1. I’d probably take Bryan Steeksma’s Residual Soul. He’s a good friend of mine and the album is about finding reason and logic in a world that honours mysticism and reckless faith. One song, “The Clock that Spins”, has a guitar solo that sends my dopamine levels through the roof.

  2. For me… it would have to be Mirrorball from Sarah McLachlan. She is my ultimate favorite. There is something about her voice and the words she uses that really touch me. I seem so drawn to her.

    On another note… over the past years of our friendship, anytime I hear a Stevie song, I think of you and smile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

