Draw A Map to Get Lost

Amazing night – which was good, because today was overall rather boring.  I had an appointment to meet a local artist, the awesome Patricia Rodriguez, at South Side on Lamar for an event called UNDERGROUND – hosted by ArtLoveMagic.  I biked it the few blocks to the event, around 8:45pm.  Wow, what an extravaganza!

The gallery and floor below were teeming with people, and art was everywhere the eye could turn.  Live music filled the cavernous space, and I was in love.  I want to try & be in the event next year.  Over 50 local artists (many of them up-and-coming or “unknown”) displaying their work, and creating new work live!  Live bands all night, body painting, alcohol, and magic.  Great time.  I was only able to stay about 45 minutes, since I was there to pick up the wife’s VD gift.

I’ll preface with this:  The wife loves Yoko Ono.  She owns a first edition copy of Ono’s seminal book of conceptual art “instructions,” titled Grapefruit.

I ordered a custom Yoko/Grapefruit inspired wooden keepsake box from Ms. Rodriguez – she paints these tea/jewelry/keepsake boxes by hand, embellishes them with extras, etc.  They’re really great.  The wife LOVED it!  (Yes, I gave it to her early – neither of us could wait)  Here are some pics:

I selected some passages from Grapefruit, and requested they be put on the box.  In case the pictures make it hard to read, the passage on top reads:

buy many dream boxes
ask your wife to select one
dream together

On the front it reads:  draw a map to get lost

Leave a Reply

